Fri, 09 Jun 2023

Al-Attiyah wins fourth Dakar Rally

15 Jan 2022, 02:19 GMT+10

RIYADH, Jan. 14 (Xinhua) -- Nasser Al-Attiyah of the Toyota Gazoo Racing team got his fourth Dakar rally victory by winning the Saudi Dakar Rally on Friday.

He was followed by Sebastien Loeb of the Bahrain Raid Xtreme team in the second and Yazeed Al Rajhi of the Overdrive Toyota team in the third.

Al-Attiyah won the most stages, three in total including the prologue, to come home in 27 minutes and 46 seconds ahead of Loeb, while Al Rajhi became the first Saudi driver to stand on a Dakar podium in third.

Chinese drivers Tian Po and Du Xuanyi finished 32nd, Han Wei and Ma Li on the 37th and Zhang Guoyu and Pan Hongyu 51st position.

Meanwhile, Sam Sunderland of the Gasgas Factory Racing team won the bike race, followed by Pablo Quintanilla of the Monster Energy Honda team and Matthias Walkner of the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing team.

The French Alexandre Giroud of the Yamaha Racing team won the Quad category.

The largest 14-day event in the world of motorsport started on January 1.

More Saudi Arabia News

Access More

Sign up for Saudi Arabia News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!